Sorting and Cleaning

One of my favorite weekend activities is sorting and clearing and anyone who knows me knows that I will never run out of places in my house to do just that. Today’s project is to continue what seems to be a never ending process of organizing one of the rooms in our house into a working craft room/genealogy library. The idea is to have a dedicated space where I can organize all my genealogical finds, research and notes as well as family photos, momentos and keepsakes.
Sometimes I wonder why I’m so obsessed with researching family history but I think these two photos provide a perfect answer to that question – linking generations and keeping our stories alive.
Papa meets Will.1992Our son was born on April 22nd and I’ll never forget his red face, electric blue eyes and blond hair. (Interestingly Rick remembers his father describing him as being very red when he was born.) For the rest of the day he kept his eyes shut until this picture was taken later that evening when Rick’s father held him for the first time. A connection – preserved.
The next picture was taken of Dad holding our daughter on the day she was baptized, which also happened to be one week after her first birthday. Papa and Sarah.9.9.1990Of course, we were at Dad’s house, the site of so many family gatherings and happy memories. Dad is beaming with pride and the picture captures the way I will always remember him – dignified and kind.
I thought it might be fun for my new found George cousins to see a few pictures of Frederick William George (Fred) – who was born in 1923 and was the first son of Frederick William George (and his first wife, Evelyn Clark) who was the first son of Adriano Giorgio and Custode Iacobucci (his second wife).

As I think I’ve mentioned before, somewhere along the way whether by choice or accident, Dad became Frederick William George, III – so Rick is the 4th and our son is the 5th. Since Adriano named his first son who was born in Italy in 1896, Nicola, after his father, I’m wondering if the first son born to Adriano and Custode (but Adriano’s second son) might have been named after Custode’s father? (Answer – a year later – he was not.) As I understand it, the Italian custom is to name the first son after the father’s father, second son after the mother’s father, first daughter after the father’s mother, second daughter after the mother’s mother. So perhaps there is a Federico Iacobucci (or his descendents) out there that might hold the key to learning more about Custode’s past. {Edit a year later – Custode’s father was named Agostino according to her brother’s death certificate. We still don’t know where the name Frederick William George came from.}

Okay – gotta get back to work – who knows what else I might find in some of those boxes!

2 thoughts on “Sorting and Cleaning

  1. Hi:

    I am Linda George, the daughter of Vito and the granddaughter of Ciro and Roario Giorgio. I have one brother and two sisters who live in New Castle, PA. I live in Hobe Sound FL and New Castle, PA. I would love to hear from you.

    Like

  2. My brother, Gerald George, is the oldest of the children of Vito and Helen Giorgio. He has three children also: Vito, Christopher, and Nicole. My oldest sister is named Veronica and my youngest sister is named Helen. Helen is the only one of Vito’s daughters who has a child and that young lady’s name is Christina. I am the “middle” sister and do not have any children.

    Our ancestor name, Giorgio, was changed to George when each of us was born because Italians were not highly regarded in our town during that era when my father was growing up. From what my parents told me, most of the “good” jobs in the 30s and 40s were given to those without an Italian ancestral name. My dad wanted to make sure our futures would not be ones filled with discrimination so he “americanized” our name.

    If you examine the death certificates of my father and mother, their names are listed as Giorgio, but their children are all listed as George. It is interesting what people did to enhance the lives of their childrens’ futures.

    Like

What Can You Add to the Story?

