The Blogosphere is a Wonderful World!

It probably comes as no surprise to anyone reading this – that I am completely obsessed with learning anything that will help me with genealogy research and internet search techniques. One of the reasons I started this blog was in hopes of finding new Giorgio relatives who might happen upon it and get in touch with me. That has happened – but not as much as I’d like. The other reason, of course, is to share what I learn with the other Giorgio descendants.

Of course, I am a neophyte when it comes to blogging but I usually take a WordPress class every month or so and they are so informative and FREE! The primary message in all of the classes, and perhaps, the primary reason they offer these classes – is that you must build your community of fellow bloggers. You read their blogs, they read your blogs, maybe if you like what you read you “follow” them and if they like what you write, they follow you and so on. Before long your “following” grows and the advantage is that your blog starts to reach more people.

That all takes a sizable time commitment (which means time away from genealogy research and cleaning house – tsk)  but I’ve tried to get better about doing that. Today – that effort has paid off immeasurably as one of my fellow Blogging 201 classmates sent me a message about finding Concetta GIorgio’s death certificate after he read my post yesterday.

Yes - Concetta died from complications related to childbirth!

Yes – Concetta died from complications related to childbirth!

I’ve got so much more to say and my lunch hour is so very short. I’ve seen a lot of spellings for Giorgio but never – G-i-o-s-g-i-o.  It makes sense because the indexers of records are transcribing script and it is certainly true that a hastily written “r” in cursive can look like an “s” – but I’d never thought about searching for Giosgio in the death certificates, or anywhere else for that matter. Who knows what else I might find with this new information! Thank you axehandles!

I surmised yesterday that Concetta’s death – almost 9 months to the day from the death of her still born child on April 13, 1913 – was unlikely to be related to childbirth since I assumed it would have taken awhile for her to get pregnant again. Guess I was wrong. This leads me to another observation none too kind toward Uncle Pasquale – “My god man – have you no mercy!” Your wife Concetta has already lost two children, is taking care of three others under the age of 7, has a stillborn child on April 13, 1913 and one day shy of nine months later, pregnant again, not only loses the child but also her life. Give it a rest Uncle P! (I might have to rethink my choice of you being the relative I’d most like to meet after Custode!)

I realize I’m viewing history with the eyes of a woman who grew up with all the benefits of birth control and women’s rights – so it’s not really fair to judge their behavior – but the frequency with which both of Pasquale’s wives became pregnant (and who, might I ask, is the common denominator in both cases?) leaves me astounded and somewhat perplexed.

Last child born (dead) to Pasquale and Concetta.

Last child born (dead) to Pasquale and Concetta.

One thought on “The Blogosphere is a Wonderful World!

  1. Very interesting post. What a great way to find a record. I completely understand your frustration with Uncle P, one of my great-grandmothers had her last child two years before she died from what we believe was ALS. We know from my grandmother that she was already very symptomatic when my great-uncle would have been conceived. Really makes me shake my head, my mother as well.

    Liked by 1 person

What Can You Add to the Story?

