Some Stories Never Grow Old

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to a plan for 2016 to keep my blog posts on track. Sometimes I feel guilty for neglecting my Kingsbury family history in favor of the George family but it seems the fascination just doesn’t wear off. (And besides, my great uncle Forrest Alva Kingsbury published the Kingsbury-Bush family history in the 1950s so there’s already a story for my children to read about their Kingsbury side of the family.)

Perhaps it is because I have two “George” children and I want them to know about their Italian heritage. Perhaps it is because so much of Rick’s family history was unknown to him while he was growing up – whether intentionally or from lack of information on his father’s part since his parents divorced when he was young. Or perhaps it is because I am so impressed by the accomplishments of Adrian’s and Custode’s descendants, especially when I think about what Custode must have gone through to raise the children on her own. But whatever the reason – the George family history is my current obsession – and has been for at least the past two years.

Another reason for the fascination has to do with the “search-ability” of stories about the residents of New Castle, PA and Dunbar/Connellsville, PA because the newspapers are digitized and available on Ancestry.com. Reading about family visits and who was in the hospital in August 1967 for three weeks (Custode) and “Stork visits after 16 years” (an article announcing the arrival of Richard Galand in 1943)
RichardHubertGaland.birth.30Mar1943

and children’s birthday parties CaroleAnns Party.1948

creates an intimacy with the family we never knew.

Here are just a few more of my “finds” this afternoon

Grandma George’s Lawsuit in 1912 (you have GOT to love her spunk!) and that of her attorney (how did she know to hire an attorney – she’d only been in the country for about 14 years!)

Lawsuit.8June1912

An announcement of a visit from Fred and Betty and son Jimmy to Dunbar in May 1935.

extendedvisit.5.7.1934

Most interesting is the last line  – that Betty and son Jimmy “will remain for an extended visit.” This news appeared in the Connellsville Daily News on May 7, 1935. Eleanor Jean George was born in Dunbar, Pennsylvania on May 10th. It seems that Fred trusted his mother and sisters to deliver his first daughter. It would also suggest that his second wife, Elizabeth Collins, had a better relationship with Custode than his first wife, Evelyn Clark did. (Isn’t it interesting that both of Fred’s wives had the same initials?!?)

In light of HIPPA regulations and privacy concerns, it’s hard to fathom that 75 years ago over your morning coffee you could learn which of your neighbors was admitted to the hospital, who had a visit from the stork (after 16 years!), whose son from Pittsburgh visited on Sunday afternoon and who just turned 2 years old.

JeffreyAGaland.2yearsold.1972

So as 2015 winds down to its final days, I hope you get as much fun out of these articles as I did. I haven’t made too much progress on my editorial calendar for the new year but I’m quite sure that 2016 will have plenty of posts on Trovando Famiglia. I hope you will enjoy them and I hope you will continue to share your memories and family stories with me.

Wishing happiness and health in the coming year to all of our Giorgio cousins in the coming year .

3 thoughts on “Some Stories Never Grow Old

  1. That was a lot of fun! I’m not sure why Eleanor was born in Dunbar. Both Jim and I were born in East Liverpool. Love the co-inky-dink of both wives of my dad having the same initials. Saves on changing the monogrammed towels.

    Like

What Can You Add to the Story?

