Another Old Family Photo Scanned

Tomorrow this time I will be in my dorm room at LaRoche College in Wexford PA. The welcoming dinner and introduction of instructors will be over and my first class at GRIP (Genealogical Research Institute of Pittsburgh) will be starting at 8:30 am on Monday July 18th. I’ve always loved the first day of school, so I’m pretty excited, but this will be my first week-long foray into a genealogy class. It seems appropriate that the course I chose is entitled – Researching your Italian Ancestors.

I left Greensboro NC this morning and had a long layover in Philadelphia, then a flight delay in a hot plane before finally arriving in Pittsburgh about 45 minutes late. Irene George Veri met me at baggage claim and we went to her new apartment. It was exactly three years to the day from when Rick and I first met Irene on our first genealogy road trip to Pennsylvania. Earlier this year Irene moved from New Castle to Cranberry Township to be closer to her three daughters.

After dinner (at where else but an Italian restaurant – Bella Frutteto) Irene dropped me at my hotel where I will very soon enjoy a good night’s sleep. I’m pretty tired but I couldn’t resist the chance to post one of the pictures Irene gave me to scan.

img081.cropped

Tomorrow this time I will be in my dorm room at LaRoche College in Wexford PA. The welcoming dinner and introduction of instructors will be over and my first class at GRIP will be starting at 8:30 am on Monday. I’ve always loved the first day of school, so I’m pretty excited, but this will be my first week-long foray into a genealogy class. It seems appropriate that the course I chose is entitled – Researching your Italian Ancestors.

This might be the oldest picture yet of Adriano’s children. There are no names on the back of the photo but if we assume the oldest boy is Irene’s father and that he is on the left in the back row, the picture could not have been taken any earlier than 1905, because Nicola arrived in the US when he was 8 years old in December 1904. Next to Nicola would be Gene and standing on the right with his hand on his younger brother’s shoulder would be Fred. From left to right on the front row would be Philomena, Lena and Joseph. Lena was born in November 1906, so if she is the infant in the picture this was probably taken in the spring of 1907.

More to come tomorrow but I’d love to hear what you think???

 

4 thoughts on “Another Old Family Photo Scanned

  1. So happy you arrived safely, Kalen. So sorry I couldn’t be there to greet you. Did you enter Pgh through Fort Pitt Tunnel? I hope so.

    I love the photo you posted – seeing my dad as a little boy is priceless.

    Enjoy your classes and your “camp” and I’ll be seeing you soon. ❤️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynnette-
    You need to take care of yourself and get feeling better soon. I haven’t been in to the city yet – just hanging out in the ‘burbs. I’ve already got a 40 page reading assignment so something tells me I won’t be having a lot of free time this week anyway!
    Can’t wait to see you next weekend!
    Kalen

    Like

  3. I’m over the moon with joy right now! I have never seen a picture of my dad, Joseph, as a little boy. It’s quite emotional. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for this treasure.

    Liked by 1 person

What Can You Add to the Story?

