Tuesday Tidbit – Antonio Iacobucci

Ever since the course I took in Pittsburgh in mid-July, I love to use the Italian website to search for arrival dates. This site compiles information from other records (including US immigration records and records from South American countries.)

Last night I started going through the information I have on the Iacobucci siblings who came to the USA in the late 1800s. In birth order (I think) they are Vincenzo (1861), Guiseppe (1866), Antonio (1875), Rosallia (1877) and Custode (1880). Since I’m not working from Italian birth records, the birth dates above are speculative and subject to variation based on who was responding to the census taker or providing information for a marriage or death certificate.

Today I’m taking a closer look at Antonio Iacobucci from Akron Ohio but I want to point out two things about the records I found on Custode and her older sister Rosie. The ship’s manifest, which is written in cursive, is subject to interpretation but may often be misindexed for that reason. Rosie is sometimes listed as Rosalba but I think her given name is Rosallia (the i is close to the l and looks like a b). Custode is listed as Custodia and though it is rarely a name she used here – I think that is probably her given name.

Interestingly when I searched the Italian website for Antonio Iacobucci, I got 10 hits. All but one of them was coming to the US, the other one was going to Argentina. Based on the age that I have for Antonio from other sources, I took a look at several entries and believe that this link provides the information on our Antonio.

For a quick summary of what you’ll find there, Antonio’s occupation is listed as weaver and his town of origin is Castel di Sangro, l’Aquila, Italy. His final destination is Pennsylvania and the person he is coming to visit is his sister, Rosalba.

Antonio was 22 years old when he arrived in New York on October 7, 1897, six months after his sisters arrived in April that year. We often think about what it must have been like for the immigrants who came to start a new life in America. As a mother, though, it is hard not to think about Maria Petrarca Iacobucci and how she must have felt watching three of her children leave within six months.

One thought on “Tuesday Tidbit – Antonio Iacobucci

  1. The only thing I can add is to say how much I love your stories and how they are presented. I always want more.
    Maria? I would love to know personal things about her.
    You are truly magical, Kalen. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

What Can You Add to the Story?

