Friday Foto Feature – Custode with her Grandson -Richard Galland

One of the photos from the family reunion was this picture of Custode and her grandson Richard Galland. Richard was born in March 1943 so this must have been taken some time that year.

It was clear from Richard’s stories (of which I hope to hear many more) that he had a special relationship with his grandmother. Most of her grandchildren who I’ve talked to do not have fond memories of her. She was strict, had no time for grandchildren and was a bit scary.  To quote Richard, “Her children feared her, but to me she was just my grandmother – I knew she loved me.” img099

Now that I’m looking at the picture, I’m curious about where it was taken and who is peering out through the window?  To be honest, this picture seems to match some others of Aunt Rosie – so I’m happy to see a family resemblance between these two sisters who came to America together when they were 23 and 16. Any ideas on who the woman looking on from inside might be – or where the picture was taken?

 

9 thoughts on “Friday Foto Feature – Custode with her Grandson -Richard Galland

  1. I’m thinking outside Aunt Phil’s house facing Grandma’. The lady in the window Looks like my mother’s sister, Aunt May. It was possible that she could have been There but not likely. Both Aunt May & Aunt Rosie were crazy about babies.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Further thinking about this picture. This is only my theory. Richard is three months older than me. My brother, Bob would have been three yrs. old. My mother depended Greatly on my aunt to help her. So, for my parents to bring her along would not have Been unusual. Truly, Aunt May raised us. Any other theories out there?

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • I think it looks like Aunt Rosie, too. She really was a pretty woman, not at all as I remember her. . (Grandma and Aunt Rosie looked remarkably alike). Carole Ann, I agree that it looks like Aunt Phil’s and Uncle Tony’s house.
      Richard, what are your thoughts? After all, this photo centers around you, you cute little munchkin! ❤️

      Like

  3. I’m not convinced that this is a picture of Grandma George ~ I think that it’s a picture of Aunt Rosie. Look at her hand. That’s Aunt Rosie’s arthritic and gnarled hand and, besides, she looks exactly like Aunt Rosie and not so much Custode. Does anyone remember Grandma George’s neighbor, Linda Darnell? Why did Grandma dislike her so much?
    This is a great picture no matter who is in it. Thank you to Richard and everyone who is sharing these family treasures!! 😘💕

    Like

  4. Lainie, I didn’t catch that it said Grandma. It is Aunt Rosie. Kalen has taken on a Herculean task with all the photos, documents etc. God love Aunt Rosie. Didn’t realize she had arthritis. Her range of motion was very limited in her right shoulder. I heard her husband caused it. So, sad. I also heard that her only baby Died of a form of malnutrition. It couldn’t absorb the nutrients & cried a lot. That was why Aunt Rosie couldn’t stand to hear a baby cry.

    Sent from my iPhone Carole

    >

    Like

    • Carole ~ I agree – God love Aunt Rosie. What a sweet and tragic person. I just remember her always crying but also wanting to try and give you anything that she had. I wish that she was still alive so that I could have her come and live with me and treat her like a Queen. I hope that Aunt Lena was kind to her.

      Like

      • I completely agree that it looks like Aunt Rosie not Custode. I may have misremembered what Richard said about the picture.
        Lainie – from what Dominic told me about the time Aunt Rosie spent with his family at the farm in Limestone Hill – Lena was not very nice to Rosie (or anyone else it seems). Rosie was often running interference to keep the boys from catching too much of Lena’s wicked stepmother act.
        Lots of love all around for Aunt Rosie!

        Like

    • Hi James – could you explain “knife rope and gun”? I think I know but I want to hear all that you know about it. Please elaborate…….

      Like

What Can You Add to the Story?

