Thursday Tidbit – Our Family Poet – Nicholas Vitus George

poem-wakeningmoon-29mar1969

In a recent email I mentioned to Irene George Veri that I wish I could have met her father. I usually form an idea of what a person is like (rightly or wrongly) from what I read in the old newspaper accounts about that person. Everything I’ve read about Nick George reveals a kind and loving man whose family and community were of primary importance to him.

Irene mentioned that her father used to dictate song lyrics to her and she would write them down and mail them back to him. This was a way of documenting the date the song was written for copyright purposes. I wonder if Irene still has any of those lyrics?

When I came across this poem, published in the New Castle News on March 29, 1969, I could hardly wait until March to post it.

Based on last night’s torrential rains and thunderstorms here in Greensboro, NC and the predicted dip to low temps in the 20s this weekend (after a ‘wacky’ month of early spring) I’d say Nick captured the vagaries of March weather perfectly.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Tidbit – Our Family Poet – Nicholas Vitus George

  1. Yes, there were hundreds more … a couple were even published …
    he wrote a song for the Sons of Italy Lodge that was published … and a love song “I’m gonna sing, sing, sing” …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is beautiful! I can still picture Uncle Nick singing at many family events with a glass of wine in one hand & a cigar in the other. The George boys were a talented group, be it sports or music.

    Like

What Can You Add to the Story?

